Skip to Main Content
-
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment (on-campus access only)
Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses. Breaking conventional geographical boundaries, coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.
Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th edition (on-campus access only)
About the Oxford Classical Dictionary
The new Oxford Classical Dictionary transforms the critically acclaimed fourth edition of the text for the digital age. Guided by Editor in Chief Tim Whitmarsh, it offers a continuously updated and ever-expanding online resource for students and scholars alike. It brings the speed and flexibility of the digital world to the same high quality and authority that has always been the hallmark of the OCD.
Main features of the digital OCD:
Hosts a continuously growing collection of over 6,500 entries
New and revised entries published online on a monthly basis
Broader chronological, geographical, and cultural reach than the fourth edition, featuring new articles on gender studies, Late Antiquity, Christianity, Jewish studies, Near East, Bronze Age, linguistics, and reception
Updated and, often, rewritten OCD4 entries, incorporating new available data, perspectives, and bibliographical resources
A truly living resource that evolves as the disciple evolves; articles offer the ability to see prior versions providing a real-time window into an ever-evolving discipline
All new and revised articles are peer-reviewed and feature a wide array of multimedia resources, including images, maps, audiovisual clips, links to primary texts, cross-references, and other digital tools
Reflects a broader and more inclusive coverage of the ancient world than the fourth edition thanks to a diverse and international board of editors and contributors
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (on-campus access only)
With more than 5,000 entries by an international group of eminent historians, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Exhaustive in its coverage, entries on patriarchy and emperors coexist with entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance (on-campus access only)
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. The text explores the influence that this intense intellectual and cultural revival continues to have on modern thought and society. Nearly half the entries are biographical, covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers. A table of European ruling houses and a table showing the dates when cities and countries changed from the Julian to the Gregorian calendar are also included.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt (on-campus access only)
Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization.
The Encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Here is the Egyptian world in illuminating, accessible detail: art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial—such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature, religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome (on-campus access only)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The nearly eleven hundred articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths.
