Sociology: Troubleshooting Database Access Issues

When authenticating, the screen indicates that I have successfully authenticated, but when I select a database, the system returns me to the authentication screen.

1. First check to see if your browser accepts cookies. OhioLINK places a cookie temporarily on your browser. This cookie contains the information necessary for you to gain access to the databases. Without it you will not be able to access any OhioLINK databases even though you have successfully authenticated. To check to see if your browser does accept cookies click on CHECK BROWSER. If your browser is not set to accept cookies, then you will need to enable this function in order to use OhioLINK resources.
2. If #1 is not applicable to your situation, then check with your Internet Service Provider (ISP). Some commercial ISPs block the cookie. In other words, you have successfully authenticated and have a cookie, but the ISP does not allow you to send it.
3. Lastly, if you are coming from a business or work location or have installed a personal firewall at home, please be aware that unless certain ports are opened on the firewall, it will block you from accessing OhioLINK databases. The required ports are listed HERE. If you are still having problems, contact your local library for help.

Why do I need to accept a "cookie" from OhioLINK?

We use the cookie during your session to open the doors for you into the databases that you desire to use. Without it you would be most likely asked for a login and password to use each database. The cookie is temporary, stays resident on your computer for up to two hours, and contains only minimum information. See OhioLINK's Privacy Policy regarding our use of cookies.

I enter my name and ID number, but I get the error message: authentication failed.

Please try again. You will get this message if you have accidentally typed your name incorrectly, entered your name in the wrong order (please read directions carefully), mistyped your ID number or entered the wrong ID number. You will also get this message if your library system record at your campus has reached or surpassed its expiration date. If you believe you have entered all the data correctly, but still get this error message, contact your campus library (library@northweststate.edu or 419-267-1283) to see if either your record has expired or the information has changed.

I am trying to authenticate but I keep getting the message: "Cannot connect to the remote server"

This message will appear when the OhioLINK authentication is trying to verify your information in your campus library database server. If the local network on campus is down or the library server is not available, you will get this message. You will not be able to authenticate until the problem is resolved. Sometimes, trying again in a few minutes will result in success.  If not, please email library@northweststate.edu

I can't load all pages of a pdf from an Ebsco database - why?

It may have to do with your browser. Some come with their own extensions to open pdf, and this can interfere with some database configurations.  Try a different browser to see if that solves the issue.  (For example, if you're using Chrome, try Edge instead.)

Why are some databases grayed out (not accessible) to me when I remotely authenticate?

Not all databases are available to all libraries. If you come across a grayed out database, it simply means that your campus library does not subscribe to that particular database.

How do I find out if I am accessing online content from an on-campus network or an off-campus network?

If you ever access databases from the library website (rather than from the online guides in Sakai) you will notice that there are sometimes two links - one for ON-CAMPUS and one for OFF-CAMPUS.  It's usually fairly straightforward, but if you want to check the WiFi network you are using, click the following link:  https://www.ohiolink.edu/content/ohiolink_connection_information