If there is more than one title included in the results - click on the title you’re interested in so that you see the entire record
If the request was successful, you will receive a message on the screen that says “Your request for (title) was successful. You will be able to pick up this material when it is ready.”
If the request is not successful, there may be an issue with your account. Please email us at library@northweststate.edu with any questions.
Becoming a Reflective Practitioner by
BECOMING A REFLECTIVE PRACTITIONER In the newly revised sixth edition of Becoming a Reflective Practitioner, expert researcher and nurse Christopher Johns delivers a rich and incisive resource on reflective practice in healthcare that offers readers a diverse and expansive range of contributions. It explores the value of using models of reflection, with a focus on John's own model of structured reflection, to inform and enhance the practice of professional nursing. This book is an essential guide for everyone using reflection in everyday clinical practice or required to demonstrate reflection for professional registration. Students will acquire new insights into how they interact with their colleagues and their environment, and how those things shape their own behaviours, both positively and negatively. Readers will learn to "look in" on their thoughts and emotions and "look out" at the situations they experience to inform how they understand the circumstances they find themselves in. Readers will also benefit from: Thorough introductions to reflective practice, writing the Self and engaging in the reflective spiral Comprehensive explorations of how to frame and deepen insights, weave and perform narratives Practical discussions of how to move towards more poetic form of expression and reflecting through art and storyboard In-depth examinations of the reflective curriculum, touch and the environment and reflective teaching as ethical practice Perfect for nurses in clinical practice, conducting research or developing their practice, the latest edition of Becoming a Reflective Practitioner is also an indispensable resource for mentors and clinical supervisors, post-registration nursing and healthcare students and other healthcare practitioners.
A Beginner's Guide to the End by
The first ever practical, compassionate, and comprehensive guide to dying--and living fully until you do. "There is nothing wrong with you for dying," palliative care doctor B.J. Miller and Shoshana Berger write in A Beginner's Guide to the End. "Our ultimate purpose here isn't so much to help you die as it is to free up as much life as possible until you do." Theirs is a clear-eyed and big-hearted action plan for approaching the end of life, written to help readers feel more in control of an experience that so often seems anything but controllable. Their book offers everything from step-by-step instructions for how to do your paperwork and navigate the healthcare system to answers to questions you might be afraid to ask your doctor, like whether or not sex is still okay when you're sick. You'll be walked through how to break the news to your employer, whether to share old secrets with your family, how to face friends who might not be as empathetic as you'd hoped, and to how to talk to your children about your will. (Don't worry: if anyone gets snippy, it'll likely be their spouses, not them.) There are also lessons for survivors, like how to shut down a loved one's social media accounts, clean out the house, and write a great eulogy. An honest, surprising, and detailed-oriented guide to the most universal of all experiences, A Beginner's Guide to the End is the one book that everyone needs.
Care and Cure: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Medicine by
The philosophy of medicine has become a vibrant and complex intellectual landscape, and Care and Cure is the first extended attempt to map it. In pursuing the interdependent aims of caring and curing, medicine relies on concepts, theories, inferences, and policies that are often complicated and controversial. Bringing much-needed clarity to the interplay of these diverse problems, Jacob Stegenga describes the core philosophical controversies underlying medicine in this unrivaled introduction to the field. The fourteen chapters in Care and Cure present and discuss conceptual, metaphysical, epistemological, and political questions that arise in medicine, buttressed with lively illustrative examples ranging from debates over the true nature of disease to the effectiveness of medical interventions and homeopathy. Poised to be the standard sourcebook for anyone seeking a comprehensive overview of the canonical concepts, current state, and cutting edge of this vital field, this concise introduction will be an indispensable resource for students and scholars of medicine and philosophy.
Clinical Judgement and Decision Making in Nursing by 
Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare by
CLINICAL LEADERSHIP IN NURSING AND HEALTHCARE Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare offers a range of tools and topics that support and foster clinically focused nurses and other healthcare professionals to develop their leadership skills and strategies. The textbook is helpfully divided into three parts: information on the attributes of clinical leaders, the tools healthcare students and staff can use to develop their leadership potential, and clinical leadership issues. It also outlines a number of principles, frameworks, and topics that support nurses and healthcare professionals to develop and deliver effective clinical care as clinical leaders. Lastly, each chapter has a range of reflective questions and self-assessments to help consolidate learning. The newly revised third edition has been updated in light of recent key changes in health service approaches to care and values. While it covers a wide spectrum of practical topics, Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare also includes information on: Theories of leadership and management, organisational culture, gender, generational issues and leaders, project management, quality initiatives, and working in teams Managing change, effective clinical decision making, how to network and delegate, how to deal with conflict, and implementing evidence-based practice Congruent leadership, the link between values and actions, authentic leadership, leaving behind control as an objective, and managing power Why decisions go wrong, techniques for developing creativity, barriers to creativity, conflict resolution and management, negotiation, self-talk, and leading in a crisis With expert input from a diverse collection of experienced contributors, Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for new leaders trying to establish themselves and existing leaders looking to perform at a higher level when it comes to quality and effective patient care.
Communication in Nursing by 
COVID's Impact on Health and Healthcare Workers by
COVID's Impact on Health and Healthcare Workers highlights the most critical issues in COVID-19's impact on healthcare providers and on hospitals. This includes factors associated with disease severity, hospitalizations and death and the effect on other medical conditions. The book exploreschanges brought about during the pandemic to primary and specialty care, including the rapid employment of telemedicine and the many innovations in care delivery. Special attention is given to the role of myths and misinformation and its resultant adverse blow to the nation's recovery. COVID'slong-range effects, both on previously infected patients and also on the general population, are reviewed. A number of recommendations to best move forward, including with vaccine allocation and preventing further devastation, are outlined.
Delivering Health Care in America: A Systems Approach by
Delivering Health Care in America, Eighth Edition is the most current and comprehensive overview of the basic structures and operations of the U.S. health system--from its historical origins and resources, to its individual services, cost, and quality. Using a unique "systems" approach, the text brings together an extraordinary breadth of information into a highly accessible, easy-to-read resource that clarifies the complexities of health care organization and finance while presenting a solid overview of how the various components fit together.The Eighth Edition of this highly current, forward-thinking text offers:- Updated new data for tables, charts, figures, and text based on the latest published data- New and emerging characteristics of the U.S. healthcare system such as 'accountable care,' 'integrated delivery,' and 'pay for value'- Coverage of COVID-19 topics in chapters 2, 5, 6, and 14- The latest on the Affordable Care Act including its effects of insurance, access, and cost. - The latest in medical technology (artificial intelligence, electronic health records, Right to Try Act of 2018, etc.) along with integration of the digital environment throughout the text.- Current challenges and issues facing the U.S. health care system, such as care for populations with special needs and behavioral health services.- Navigate eBook access (included with each print text) provides entry to the enriched digital text, which includes chapter quizzes, interactive glossary and weblinks.
Demystifying Hospice by
Hospice care is available to patients and families dealing with terminal illness. People often do not avail themselves of hospice care because they don't understand what it entails. Many wait until their last few days to request this extraordinary comfort care instead of using the full six months available to them through Medicare and other insurance options. Demystifying Hospice describes through stories good news about end-of-life issues. Written from the perspective of a licensed social worker with experience in public and private hospitals, hospice, and the American Cancer Society, these first-hand accounts of patients, family members, hospice workers and others will lift spirits, touch hearts, and illustrate the advantages of hospice care. These are real-life examples of personalized comfort care, offered by an interdisciplinary team, where ever the patient lives. Each story addresses some aspect of helping families through the caregiving and grieving process, which are part-and-parcel of a serious illness, and offers comfort and understanding to readers who may be going through similar experiences. This book describes hope, healing, and support through difficult times.
A Doctor's Dozen by
Burnout affects a third of our population and over half of our health professionals. For the second group, the impact is magnified, as consequences play out not only on a personal level, but also on a societal level and lead to medical errors, suboptimal care, low levels of patient satisfaction, and poor clinical outcomes. Achieving wellbeing requires strategies for change. In this book, Dr. Pipas shares twelve lessons and strategies for improved health that she has learned from patients, students, and colleagues over her twenty years working as a family physician. Each lesson is based on observation and research, and begins with a story of an exemplary patient whose challenges and successes reflect the theme of the lesson. Along with the lessons, the author offers plans for action, which taken together create the framework for a healthy life. Each lesson concludes with resources and a "health challenge."
First-Year Nurse by 
Handbook of Clinical Skills by 
Healing: When a Nurse Becomes a Patient by
"A stunning book that helped me understand how to survive a serious illness and how to understand hospitals in general. Theresa Brown is also a hell of a good writer." --James Patterson From the mammogram that would change her life through her diagnosis, treatment, and recovery, New York Times bestselling author Theresa Brown, RN, tells a poignant and powerful story about having breast cancer in the United States. Despite her training and years of experience as an oncology and hospice nurse, Brown finds it difficult to navigate the medical maze from the other side of the bed. Why is she so often left in the dark about procedures and treatments? Why is she expected to research her own best treatment options? Why is there so much red tape? At times she's mad at herself for not speaking up and asking for what she needs but knows that being a "difficult" patient could mean she gets worse care. Of the almost four million women in this country living with breast cancer, many have had, like Brown, a treatable form of the disease. Both unnerving and extremely relatable, her experience shows us how our for-profit health care industry "cures" us but at the same time leaves so many of us feeling alienated and uncared for. As she did so brilliantly in her New York Times bestseller, The Shift, Brown relays the unforgettable details of her daily life--the needles, the chemo drugs, the rubber gloves, the bureaucratic frustrations--but this time from her new perch as a patient, looking back at some of her own cases and considering what she didn't know then about the warping effects of fear and the healing virtues of compassion. "People failed me when I was a patient and I failed patients when working as a nurse. I see that now," she writes. Healing is must-read for all of us who have tried to find healing through our health-care system.
Healing Healthcare: Evidence-Based Strategies to Mend Our Broken System by
Healing Healthcare is a poignant exploration of the intricate challenges within the healthcare landscape post-pandemic and solutions for change. Faced with shortages and systemic upheavals, the healthcare system currently teeters on the brink of collapse, prompting responses from a respected group of healthcare professionals who each spotlight evidence-based strategies for recovery. With a diverse set of contributors from academia, practice, and the community, Healing Healthcare is a collaborative effort that serves as a beacon of hope, paving the way for a truly healed and resilient healthcare ecosystem. At its core, Healing Healthcare amplifies the voices of nurse leaders. This book is filled with the solutions, action steps, and strategies to fix our broken healthcare system, divided into three distinct sections: Workforce, Well-Being, and Wisdom. Contributors to the Workforce section tackle issues of inequities, incivility, and generational needs, emphasizing the crucial requirement for emotional safety. Nurses need work settings that promote well-being and meet their needs for a wellness culture, as is explored and made clear in the Well-Being section. Wisdom moves us beyond common discussions on maximizing patient value as contributors explore education, cultural misalignments, lack of recognition, and uncertainty, providing a nuanced understanding of the challenges faced by healthcare professionals and our next chapter in the healthcare reform space. Healing Healthcare is for the leader who wants to make an immediate impact. This book is a must-read for healthcare professionals, packed with vetted ideas for change; we urge you to embrace, and be, that change.
Healthcare Politics and Policy in America by
Health policy in the United States has been shaped by the political, socioeconomic, and ideological environment, with important roles played by public and private actors, as well as institutional and individual entities, in designing the contemporary American healthcare system. Now in a fully updated fifth edition, this book gives expanded attention to pressing issues for our policymakers, including the aging American population, physician shortages, gene therapy, specialty drugs, and the opioid crisis. A new chapter has been added on the Trump administration's failed attempts at repealing and replacing the Affordable Care Act and subsequent attempts at undermining it via executive orders. Authors Kant Patel and Mark Rushefsky address the key problems of healthcare cost, access, and quality through analyses of Medicare, Medicaid, the Veterans Health Administration, and other programs, and the ethical and cost implications of advances in healthcare technology. Each chapter concludes with discussion questions and a comprehensive reference list.
How to Nurse by
How to Nurse: Relational Inquiry in Action, Second Edition, presents a groundbreaking, research-informed approach to help students engage in a thoughtful process of inquiry to more intentionally and consciously develop their knowledge and nursing practice, boost their confidence and ability to act in alignment with their nursing values and competently navigate the complexities of contemporary healthcare settings as they care for patients and families. Focusing on the "how" of relational inquiry instead of the "what," the text's conversational style and concrete examples make complex ideas more accessible while encouraging in-depth exploration. Each chapter gradually builds on existing knowledge to ensure understanding for readers at all levels, accompanied by engaging tools that bridge theoretical approaches to practical application in clinical settings. UPDATED! Revised content reflects the most current practices informed by the latest evidence-based research. NEW! Relational Inquiry Toolbox features highlight knowledge, strategies, inquiry frameworks and checkpoints to strengthen your everyday nursing practice. To Illustrate features reinforce key concepts with real-life examples of patients and families, former students, practice nurses and clinical nurse specialists. Try it Out activities challenge you to engage with chapter content and apply concepts in a range of ways. Text Boxes summarize essential relational inquiry ideas and strategies at a glance. Figures and Images clarify the relationship between ideas and stimulate your critical thinking capabilities. Learning Objectives help you prioritize chapter content and make the most of your study. An Example stories illustrate key points in the text.
Lippincott Visual Nursing by 
Mayo Clinic: the Integrative Guide to Good Health by
IMPROVE TOTAL HEALTH WITHOUT PRESCRIPTIONS Looking for natural, noninvasive ways to strengthen and heal your body? Here, Mayo Clinic experts explain how to achieve personal wellness through nontraditional medicine and home remedies. Their revolutionary approach to health addresses the whole person -- body, mind and spirit-- by combining conventional care with innovative practices such as mind body techniques, acupuncture and massage therapy. With this book, you'll get advice for avoiding medical appointments while also learning when an appointment is needed. Practical, trustworthy and smart, this book will safely and naturally transform your well-being one page at a time. FIND INSIDE: * Details on applying dozens of therapies, such as progressive muscle relaxation, Pilates, guided imagery and spirituality to enrich your life * Home solutions to help manage common issues such as high blood pressure, osteoporosis,wrinkles, motion sickness, hives and stress * Steps for administering first aid in emergencies such as bleeding, choking and heart attack
Nursing Professionals by 
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Find the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 10th Edition provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence can enhance decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application. Scholars specializing in the work of a specific nursing theorist write each theorist chapter, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information. Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter put the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you understand the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical situations. Diagrams and graphics help you to visualize and better understand abstract concepts and theories. History of nursing theory development includes its significance to the discipline and practice of the nursing profession. Brief summary sections in theorist chapters enhance comprehension and make it easier to review for tests. Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary. Points for Further Study section at the end of each chapter indicates sources of additional information. References at the end of theorist chapters list the author's primary and secondary sources of information. NEW theorists, chapter authors, and case studies provide research and expertise from countries across the world. NEW references and bibliographies demonstrate the ever-increasing use of nursing theory globally.
Nursing Today: Transitions and Trends by 
Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice: by
This text which contains new features like the 'career connection' illustrates the relevance of nutrition in real-world nursing. It includes a focus on current food trends, supplement and drug alerts and sample diets.
Overcoming Secondary Stress in Medical and Nursing Practice by
The mental and physical health of caregivers impacts more than just that individual worker. It affects the health of their patients, it impacts their families, it shapes communities, it influences politics, and it plays into international relations.Medical and nursing professionals working in today's health care settings must be prepared to offer support in dangerous times despite staffing shortages, financial pressures, and complex legal requirements. The nature of this work puts these professionals in harm's way not only physically, but atgreater risk for secondary stress, trauma, burnout and other emotional impacts exacerbating the need for self-care.There is no better time to revisit the problem of secondary stress among caregivers than on the heels of the COVID-19 pandemic. Times of challenge and change test health care professionals' self-care insights, strategy, and reserves. New learnings and ways of maneuvering through difficultprofessional practice situations and life in general can become permanent elements in our self-care cache. This book will enrich the reader's insights and strategies with respect to secondary stress leading to enhanced resilience of mind, body and spirit. This second edition draws on content in thefirst edition and information from classic literature and research findings about the phenomenon of secondary stress experienced by nurses, physicians and physician assistants.This book highlights the importance of interprofessional communication and support in ameliorating the stressors of clinical work, an effort enhanced by interdisciplinary co-authorship. Educators and front line clinicians have come to the realization that the recognition and self-management ofsecondary stress and burnout will contribute to a high functioning, caring health care delivery system in the future that prevents attrition and major health problems for those in clinical careers. Overcoming Secondary Stress in Medical and Nursing Practice is an indispensable resource for medicaland nursing professionals, students, and the counselors and therapists who work with them.
Self-Care for New and Student Nurses by
"Self-Care for New and Student Nurses presents self-care practices that must be learned and used consistently and in multiple settings to prepare new nurses for the clinical stressors to come. Filled with methods, tips, and exercises, this will book will guide new and student nurses to prioritize their own health needs in order to avoid burnout and premature exit from the nursing profession"--
Simulation in Nursing Education by
Simulation represents an increasingly effective strategy for addressing the growing lack of clinical placements for today's nursing students, offering evidence-based, experiential learning opportunities that foster critical thinking and clinical reasoning. Simulation in Nursing Education: From Conceptualization to Evaluation, Third Editionprovides both a foundation for the novice and advanced strategies for the seasoned simulation educator, empowering nursing educators to make informed decisions and ensure success in their simulation programs. Structured around the NLN Jeffries Theory (2015), this updated edition highlights current best practices in simulation design and development, teaching and learning practices, implementation processes and associated learning outcomes. Seven new chapters reflect recent advances and emerging concepts across the full spectrum of simulation strategies, including pre-briefing of simulations, creating simulation cases for Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCES) for graduate nursing programs and the use of virtual simulations and gaming to engage students. "In Clinical Simulations in Nursing Education, 3rd Edition, Dr. Jeffries continues to highlight best practices in simulation pedagogy...This edition explores how educators and researchers are joining forces to develop more rigorous research studies, testing simulation outcomes across the continuum of education and practice at all levels." -Susan Gross Forneris, PhD, RN, CNE, CHSE-A, FAAN Director, NLN Center for Innovation in Education Excellence
Speaking for the Dying by
Seven in ten Americans over the age of age of sixty who require medical decisions in the final days of their life lack the capacity to make them. For many of us, our biggest, life-and-death decisions--literally--will therefore be made by someone else. They will decide whether we live or die; between long life and quality of life; whether we receive heroic interventions in our final hours; and whether we die in a hospital or at home. They will determine whether our wishes are honored and choose between fidelity to our interests and what is best for themselves or others. Yet despite their critical role, we know remarkably little about how our loved ones decide for us. Speaking for the Dying tells their story, drawing on daily observations over more than two years in two intensive care units in a diverse urban hospital. From bedsides, hallways, and conference rooms, you will hear, in their own words, how physicians really talk to families and how they respond. You will see how decision makers are selected, the interventions they weigh in on, the information they seek and evaluate, the values and memories they draw on, the criteria they weigh, the outcomes they choose, the conflicts they become embroiled in, and the challenges they face. Observations also provide insight into why some decision makers authorize one aggressive intervention after the next while others do not--even on behalf of patients with similar problems and prospects. And they expose the limited role of advance directives in structuring the process decision makers follow or the outcomes that result. Research has consistently found that choosing life or death for another is one of the most difficult decisions anyone can face, sometimes haunting families for decades. This book shines a bright light on a role few of us will escape and offers steps that patients and loved ones, health care providers, lawyers, and policymakers could undertake before it is too late.
Statistics for Nursing by 
The Ultimate Career Guide for Nurses by 
Visualizing Health and Healthcare Data by
The only data visualization book written by and for health and healthcare professionals. In health and healthcare, data and information are coming at organizations faster than they can consume and interpret it. Health providers, payers, public health departments, researchers, and health information technology groups know the ability to analyze and communicate this vast array of data in a clear and compelling manner is paramount to success. However, they simply cannot find experienced people with the necessary qualifications. The quickest (and often the only) route to meeting this challenge is to hire smart people and train them. Visualizing Health and Healthcare Data: Creating Clear and Compelling Visualizations to "See how You're Doing" is a one-of-a-kind book for health and healthcare professionals to learn the best practices of data visualization specific to their field. It provides a high-level summary of health and healthcare data, an overview of relevant visual intelligence research, strategies and techniques to gather requirements, and how to build strong teams with the expertise required to create dashboards and reports that people love to use. Clear and detailed explanations of data visualization best practices will help you understand the how and the why. Learn how to build beautiful and useful data products that deliver powerful insights for the end user Follow along with examples of data visualization best practices, including table and graph design for health and healthcare data Learn the difference between dashboards, reports, multidimensional exploratory displays and infographics (and why it matters) Avoid common mistakes in data visualization by learning why they do not work and better ways to display the data Written by a top leader in the field of health and healthcare data visualization, this book is an excellent resource for top management in healthcare, as well as entry-level to experienced data analysts in any health-related organization.
Wellbeing Strategies for Nurses by
Wellbeing Strategies for Nurses Practical strategies for combating burnout and improving mental health while working as a nurse Wellbeing Strategies for Nurses explores clear, straightforward, and practical techniques for cultivating resilience and positive mental health strategies in the face of a demanding clinical environment. This pocket-sized book is easy to carry during your clinical placement and offers tips, advice, and hard-won words of wisdom from student and qualified nurses to support you through a challenging, yet rewarding, career. You'll find stress-busting tools as well as exercises intended for long-term relief of stress incorporated throughout the book. Readers will also find: A thorough introduction to self-care and wellbeing for nurses, as well as discussions of stress and guided meditation practice exercises Comprehensive explorations of breathing, humour, and nature therapy Practical discussions of muscle relaxation and the importance of healthy foods and hydration Treatments of the sense of smell, aromatherapy, guided meditation, mindfulness, and the five senses approach to wellbeing Perfect for pre-registration adult nursing students in their first and second years of the programme, Wellbeing Strategies for Nurses will also benefit nursing associates, health care assistants, assistant practitioners, and professionals returning to the field after a period of absence.
