It is possible to request a book from our local collection, to be picked up at your convenience. The directions are as follows:
If there is more than one title included in the results - click on the title you’re interested in so that you see the entire record
If the request was successful, you will receive a message on the screen that says “Your request for (title) was successful. You will be able to pick up this material at the Library Locker when it is ready.”
If the request is not successful, there may be an issue with your account. Please email us at library@northweststate.edu with any questions.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
This second edition of a landmark reference resource -- created not only for psychologists, clinicians, students, and professionals from allied mental health professions, but for all interested readers -- offers definitive information on the lexicon of the field, including Almost 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions -- approximately 1,000 more than the first edition Balanced coverage of 90 subareas, with significantly revised and expanded content especially in the areas of neuroscience, psychopharmacology, lifespan developmental psychology, statistics, experimental design, and many others Thousands of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's comprehension of related topics More than 400 brief biographical entries on historical figures in psychology and other related areas -- four times more than the first edition A Guide to the Dictionary and a Quick Guide to Format that explain stylistic and format features Three appendixes: Institutional and Organizational Entries; Psychological Test and Assessment Instrument Entries; Psychotherapeutic Techniques, Biological Treatments, and Related Entries
Clocking In: the Psychology of Work by
Covering important topics such as job satisfaction, workplace stress, and the changing nature of jobs and careers in the 21st century, this valuable resource explores how working affects us psychologically, for better and for worse and sometimes in imperceptible ways. * Examines the ways in which people work, what motivates us to work, and how our relationships with work differ based on gender, age, and socioeconomic status * Enables readers to better understand the importance of work and how it influences our everyday lives * Explains the findings of classical and current research regarding work without using complex terminology * Features work-related scenarios that allow readers to contextualize scientific data and apply it to their own experiences
Critical Approaches to the Psychology of Emotion by
This fascinating book explores the different methodologies, resources and strategies that have been used to study emotion, and identifies emerging trends and research perspectives in the field. Emotion is a subject that has been thoroughly investigated in all fields of social and behavioural sciences. And yet the more we have attempted to individualize emotions and set limits that separate the different types of emotions, the more the subject has resisted these categorizations. Mapping the changes and diverse perspectives in the study of emotion, author Simone Belli explores how a critical psychology of emotion has emerged in order to answer this paradox, examining emotions within a social framework. Divided into five chapters, the book uses interdisciplinary critical approaches to cover everything from the interaction between emotion and language, to emotional contagion such as the spread of fear in a pandemic. There is also a particular focus on emotion analysis in digital environments, which have left a deep mark on our lives from the beginning of this century. Showcasing a selection of important investigations that have dealt with the study of emotions in society, Critical Approaches to the Psychology of Emotion is essential reading for students of critical social psychology, sociolinguistics, sociology, anthropology and philosophy.
Critical Thinking in Psychology by
Good scientific research depends on critical thinking at least as much as factual knowledge; psychology is no exception to this rule. And yet, despite the importance of critical thinking, psychology students are rarely taught how to think critically about the theories, methods, and concepts they must use. This book shows students and researchers how to think critically about key topics such as experimental research, statistical inference, case studies, logical fallacies, and ethical judgments. Using updated research findings and new insights, this volume provides a comprehensive overview of what critical thinking is and how to teach it in psychology. Written by leading experts in critical thinking in psychology, each chapter contains useful pedagogical features, such as critical-thinking questions, brief summaries, and definitions of key terms. It also supplies descriptions of each chapter author's critical-thinking experience, which evidences how critical thinking has made a difference to facilitating career development.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Educational Psychology by
A comprehensive introduction to educational psychology, this volume is inclusive of all of the essentials--covering history, profiles, theories, applications, research, case studies, current events, issues, controversies, and more. Focused on human learning and teaching, the field of educational psychology informs a range of educational challenges, including instructional design, curriculum development, organizational learning, special education, student motivation, and classroom management. In this book, two veteran professors in the fields of education and psychology, offer a clear and concise yet comprehensive overview of this growing specialty. This volume will be valuable not only to university students aiming to understand psychology's subfields and to choose a major or a specialty, but also to classroom teachers, school administrators, and school social workers aiming to make teaching more effective and learning more thorough and lasting. Topics include the field's history, primary figures theories, research, theories, applications, issues, and controversies. Authors Martin and Torok-Gerard also explain current issues of social justice and educational equity, citing means that have been used to meet those goals in schools. The text additionally analyzes special education as a civil rights issue as well as equity and fairness for LGBTQ+ students in the context of social justice. The text ends with emerging research and predictions for the future of educational psychology. * Presents case studies that survey current social justice and educational equity issues * Includes a historical timeline that allows readers to understand how issues have developed over time * Offers a glossary of key terms that provides context for deeper understanding * Provides a resource list so readers can investigate issues on their own * Features a bibliography of citable resources that serves as a foundation for further research
Ethics in Psychology and the Mental Health Professions by
Most mental health professionals and behavioral scientists enter the field with a strong desire to help others, but clinical practice and research endeavors often involve decision-making in the context of ethical ambiguity. Good intentions are important, but unfortunately, they do not alwaysprotect the practitioner and client from breaches in ethical conduct. Academics, researchers, and students also face a range of ethical challenges from the classroom to the laboratory.The completely updated fourth edition of Ethics in Psychology and the Mental Health Professions considers many of the ethical questions and dilemmas that mental health professionals encounter in their everyday practice, research, and teaching. This classic text takes a practical approach to ethics,offering constructive means for preventing problems and recognizing, approaching, and resolving ethical predicaments. Written in a highly readable and accessible style, this new edition retains the key features which have contributed to its popularity, now with over 700 case studies that provideillustrative guidance on a wide variety of topics. New material has been added relating to evolving ethical challenges posed by new case law, electronic records, social media, changes in psychological assessment practice, mental health practitioners' interface with national security, complex worksettings, and ethical issues in addressing human differences and diversity. This edition has been re-framed to include substantial content that extends beyond psychology, including counseling, marriage and family therapy, and social work. The case studies now address professionals in each of thesefields, supporting interprofessional education and making the material even more applicable and accessible to a wide range of mental health providers and students-in-training.
The Feeling Brain: the Biology and Psychology of Emotions by
After years of neglect by both mainstream biology and psychology, the study of emotions has emerged as a central topic of scientific inquiry in the vibrant new discipline of affective neuroscience. Elizabeth Johnston and Leah Olson trace how work in this rapidly expanding field speaks to fundamental questions about the nature of emotion: What is the function of emotions? What is the role of the body in emotions? What are "feelings," and how do they relate to emotions? Why are emotions so difficult to control? Is there an emotional brain?The authors tackle these questions and more in this "tasting menu" of cutting-edge emotion research. They build their story around the path-breaking 19th century works of biologist Charles Darwin and psychologist and philosopher William James. James's 1884 article "What Is an Emotion?" continues to guide contemporary debate about minds, brains, and emotions, while Darwin's treatise on "The Expression of Emotions in Animals and Humans" squarely located the study of emotions as a critical concern in biology.Throughout their study, Johnston and Olson focus on the key scientists whose work has shaped the field, zeroing in on the most brilliant threads in the emerging tapestry of affective neuroscience. Beginning with early work on the brain substrates of emotion by such workers such as James Papez and Paul MacLean, who helped define an emotional brain, they then examine the role of emotion in higher brain functions such as cognition and decision-making. They then investigate the complex interrelations of emotion and pleasure, introducing along the way the work of major researchers such as Antonio Damasio and Joseph LeDoux. In doing so, they braid diverse strands of inquiry into a lucid and concise introduction to this burgeoning field, and begin to answer some of the most compelling questions in the field today.How does the science of "normal" emotion inform our understanding of emotional disorders? To what extent can we regulate our emotions? When can we trust our emotions and when might they lead us astray? How do emotions affect our memories, and vice versa? How can we best describe the relationship between emotion and cognition? Johnston and Olson lay out the most salient questions of contemporary affective neuroscience in this study, expertly situating them in their biological, psychological, and philosophical contexts. They offer a compelling vision of an increasingly exciting and ambitious field for mental health professionals and the interested lay audience, as well as for undergraduate and graduate students.
Filling Up: the Psychology of Eating by
Benefiting readers ranging from students researching topics in food, psychology, and eating disorders to parents and general readers seeking to better understand a variety of issues regarding the psychology of food and eating, this book examines a wide range of complex issues, such as emotional eating, food as a form of social bonding and personal identity, and changes in eating throughout the lifespan. * Addresses both the positive and negative physiological, psychological, and social aspects of food and eating * Explores psychologists' theories related to food and eating, translating them into real-world contexts * Examines debates regarding controversial topics such as sugar addiction, fad diets, and the "Freshman 15" * Includes case illustrations about a variety of food-related issues that give readers a firsthand look at topics such as dieting, mindful eating, and stress eating
Getting Gamers: the Psychology of Video Games and Their Impact on the People Who Play Them by
Video games are big business. They can be addicting. They are available almost anywhere you go and are appealing to people of all ages. They can eat up our time, cost us money, even kill our relationships. But it's not all bad This book will show that rather than being a waste of time, video games can help us develop skills, make friends, succeed at work, form good habits, and be happy. Taking the time to learn what's happening in our heads as we play and shop allows us to approach games and gaming communities on our own terms and get more out of them. With sales in the tens of billions of dollars each year, just about everybody is playing some kind of video game whether it's on a console, a computer, a web browser, or a phone. Much of the medium's success is built on careful (though sometimes unwitting) adherence to basic principles of psychology. This is something that's becoming even more important as games become more social, interactive, and sophisticated. This book offers something unique to the millions of people who play or design games: how to use an understanding of psychology to be a better part of their gaming communities, to avoid being manipulated when they shop and play, and to get the most enjoyment out of playing games. With examples from the games themselves, Jamie Madigan offers a fuller understanding of the impact of games on our psychology and the influence of psychology on our games.
The Life Story, Domains of Identity, and Personality Development in Emerging Adulthood by
The Life Story, Domains of Identity, and Personality Development in Emerging Adulthood focuses on individuals' formulations of the unique episodes and events of their lives that give one meaning and a sense of personal identity. This book brings the growing research on narrative study and thelife story into focus by drawing from the existing research on personality development during emerging adulthood.In this book, authors Michael W. Pratt and M. Kyle Matsuba present a series of chapters exploring how one's life story manifests across the many components of their developing identity, including their religion, morality, vocation, society, and the relationships they have with their parents, peers,and romantic partners. Taking their cue from Erik Erikson's model of adolescent and adult development, the authors show readers exactly how a life story approach can illuminate the distinctive features of an individual's personality and development during this formative phase of life.Organized around a set of life contexts where personality is manifested (i.e. adjustment, personal ideology, close relationships, occupation, and civic life), this book draws on the authors' own longitudinal research on the development of the life story in emerging adulthood. Throughout the book,they incorporate fascinating case studies and historical examples (e.g., Darwin, Pope Francis, Martin Luther King, Jr., Jane Fonda) of individuals' unique development during this period of life in order to better illustrate the application of this approach to understanding the whole person incontext.
Mind Fixers: Psychiatry's Troubled Search for the Biology of Mental Illness by
In Mind Fixers, Anne Harrington, author of The Cure Within, explores psychiatry's repeatedly frustrated struggle to understand mental disorder in biomedical terms. She shows how the stalling of early twentieth century efforts in this direction allowed Freudians and social scientists to insist, with some justification, that they had better ways of analyzing and fixing minds.But when the Freudians overreached, they drove psychiatry into a state of crisis that a new "biological revolution" was meant to alleviate. Harrington shows how little that biological revolution had to do with breakthroughs in science, and why the field has fallen into a state of crisis in our own time.Mind Fixers makes clear that psychiatry's waxing and waning biological enthusiasms have been shaped not just by developments in the clinic and lab, but also by a surprising range of social factors, including immigration, warfare, grassroots activism, and assumptions about race and gender. Government programs designed to empty the state mental hospitals, acrid rivalries between different factions in the field, industry profit mongering, consumerism, and an uncritical media have all contributed to the story as well.In focusing particularly on the search for the biological roots of schizophrenia, depression, and bipolar disorder, Harrington underscores the high human stakes for the millions of people who have sought medical answers for their mental suffering. This is not just a story about doctors and scientists, but about countless ordinary people and their loved ones.A clear-eyed, evenhanded, and yet passionate tour de force, Mind Fixers recounts the past and present struggle to make mental illness a biological problem in order to lay the groundwork for creating a better future, both for those who suffer and for those whose job it is to care for them.
The Organizational Psychology of Sport by
This ground-breaking book is the first to provide a comprehensive overview of how organizational psychology can be used to understand and improve performance in elite sport. Using recent theoretical advances from this burgeoning area of research, each chapter offers key conceptual issues and practical insights across a range of topics. The book is structured into four constituent parts, Attitudes and emotions in sports organizations Stress and well-being in sports organizations Behaviors in sports organizations Environments in sports organizations Covering key areas such as attitudes to employment, conflict and change management, leadership, and relationships with the mass media, the book shines a spotlight on how organizational issues play a fundamental role in the experience of individuals and teams. In an era of ever-increasing professionalism in sport, the book provides an invaluable new perspective on performance at the elite level. Including contributions from an international range of academics and practitioners, it will be essential reading for any student or practitioners within sport and exercise psychology.
Our Minds, Our Selves: A Brief History of Psychology by
An original history of psychology told through the stories of its most important breakthroughs and the people who made them Advances in psychology have revolutionized our understanding of the human mind. Imaging technology allows researchers to monitor brain activity, letting us see what happens when we perceive, think, and feel. But technology is only part of how ideas about the mind and brain have developed over the past century and a half. In Our Minds, Our Selves, distinguished psychologist and writer Keith Oatley provides an engaging, original, and authoritative history of modern psychology told through the stories of its most important breakthroughs and the men and women who made them. Our Minds, Our Selves traverses a fascinating terrain: forms of conscious and unconscious knowledge; brain physiology; emotion; stages of mental development from infancy to adulthood; language acquisition and use; the nature of memory; mental illness; morality; free will; creativity; the mind at work in art and literature; and, most important, our ability to cooperate with one another. Controversial experiments--such as Stanley Milgram's investigation of our willingness to obey authority and inflict pain and Philip Zimbardo and his colleagues' study of behavior in a simulated prison--are covered in detail. Biographical sketches illuminate the thinkers behind key insights and turning points: historical figures such as Hermann Helmholtz, Charles Darwin, Sigmund Freud, Jean Piaget, B. F. Skinner, and Alan Turing; leading contemporaries such as Geoffrey Hinton, Michael Tomasello, and Tania Singer; and influential people from other fields, including Margaret Mead, Noam Chomsky, Jane Goodall, and Gabrielle Starr. Enhancing our understanding of ourselves and others, psychology holds the potential to create a better world. Our Minds, Our Selves tells the story of this most important of sciences in a new and appealing way.
Psych: the Story of the Human Mind by
A Next Big Idea Club Must-Read A compelling and accessible new perspective on the modern science of psychology, based on one of Yale's most popular courses of all time How does the brain--a three-pound wrinkly mass--give rise to intelligence and conscious experience? Was Freud right that we are all plagued by forbidden sexual desires? What is the function of emotions such as disgust, gratitude, and shame? Renowned psychologist Paul Bloom answers these questions and many more in Psych, his riveting new book about the science of the mind. Psych is an expert and passionate guide to the most intimate aspects of our nature, serving up the equivalent of a serious university course while being funny, engaging, and full of memorable anecdotes. But Psych is much more than a comprehensive overview of the field of psychology. Bloom reveals what psychology can tell us about the most pressing moral and political issues of our time--including belief in conspiracy theories, the role of genes in explaining human differences, and the nature of prejudice and hatred. Bloom also shows how psychology can give us practical insights into important issues--from the treatment of mental illnesses such as depression and anxiety to the best way to lead happy and fulfilling lives. Psych is an engrossing guide to the most important topic there is: it is the story of us.
The Psychology Book by
What could be more fascinating than the workings of the human mind? This stunningly illustrated survey in Sterling's Milestones series chronicles the history of psychology through 250 landmark events, theories, publications, experiments, and discoveries. Beginning with ancient philosophies of well-being, it touches on such controversial topics as phrenology, sexual taboos, electroshock therapy, multiple personality disorder, and the nature of evil.
The Psychology of Later Life by 
Redefining Success in America by
Work hard in school, graduate from a top college, establish a high-paying professional career, enjoy the long-lasting reward of happiness. This is the American Dream--and yet basic questions at the heart of this competitive journey remain unanswered. Does competitive success, even rarified entry into the Ivy League and the top one percent of earners in America, deliver on its promise? Does realizing the American Dream deliver a good life? In Redefining Success in America, psychologist and human development scholar Michael Kaufman develops a fundamentally new understanding of how elite undergraduate educations and careers play out in lives, and of what shapes happiness among the prizewinners in America. In so doing, he exposes the myth at the heart of the American Dream. Returning to the legendary Harvard Student Study of undergraduates from the 1960s and interviewing participants almost fifty years later, Kaufman shows that formative experiences in family, school, and community largely shape a future adult's worldview and well-being by late adolescence, and that fundamental change in adulthood, when it occurs, is shaped by adult family experiences, not by ever-greater competitive success. Published research on general samples shows that these patterns, and the book's findings generally, are broadly applicable to demographically varied populations in the United States. Leveraging biography-length clinical interviews and quantitative evidence unmatched even by earlier landmark studies of human development, Redefining Success in America redefines the conversation about the nature and origins of happiness, and about how adults develop. This longitudinal study pioneers a new paradigm in happiness research, developmental science, and personality psychology that will appeal to scholars and students in the social sciences, psychotherapy professionals, and serious readers navigating the competitive journey.
Reflections from Pioneering Women in Psychology by
This volume traces the life journeys of a cohort of influential and transformative women in psychology, now in or nearing retirement, who have changed the discipline and the broader world of academia in significant ways. The 26 reflective essays record how these scholars thrived in an academic landscape that was often, at best, unwelcoming, and, at worst, hostile, toward them. They explicitly and implicitly acknowledge that their paths were inextricably linked with the evolution of women's roles in society; they highlight and celebrate their achievements as much as they acknowledge and recognize the obstacles, barriers, and hurdles they overcame. They tell their stories with candor and humor, resulting in a compilation of inspiring essays. The end result of these individual narratives is a volume that provides a unique resource for current and future academics to help them navigate through the crossroads, curves, and challenges of their own careers in academia.
The Romantic Lives of Emerging Adults by
The romantic lives of emerging adults are often baffling and contradictory. While they prize committed and authentic relationships, they appear to be reluctant participants. They prefer to foster ambiguity in their romantic relationships, even as they value honesty and clarity. There is, at once, a valuing of long-term as well as a decentering of romantic relationships. Although our current understanding is incomplete, this text grapples with these perplexing questions. In attempting to understand emerging adults and their romantic lives, researchers must consider the challenging economic conditions in which today's emerging adults find themselves. With an emphasis on commitment and sacrifice and their centrality to one's readiness for a long-term relationship, this book reviews the main milestones in transitioning from an "I" identity to a "we" identity and discusses the concepts of choice and risk. Further, the book examines structures such as asymmetrically committed relationships, cohabitation, and marriage through the lens of commitment, risk, and risk avoidance. Probing extensively into the romantic lives of emerging adults -- their attitudes, values and expectations -- this text examines some of the developmental and contextual realities against which romantic attachment must be viewed. Critical topics such as casual and sexual experiences and relationships, integration of work and love, breakups, marriage, going solo, and social media and its influences are considered. The commonality and the individuality of the emerging adults presented throughout this text contribute to a rich understanding of emerging adults and how they live and love.
The Self Delusion: The New Neuroscience of How We Invent - and Reinvent - Our Identities by
A New York Times-bestselling author reveals how the stories we tell ourselves, about ourselves, are critical to our lives We all know we tell stories about ourselves. But as psychiatrist and neuroscientist Gregory Berns argues in The Self Delusion, we don't just tell stories; we are the stories. Our self-identities are fleeting phenomena, continually reborn as our conscious minds receive, filter, or act on incoming information from the world and our memories. Drawing on new research in neuroscience, social science, and psychiatry, Berns shows how our stories and our self-identities are temporary and therefore ever changing. Berns shows how we can embrace the delusion of a singular self to make our lives better, offering a plan not centered on what we think will be best for us, but predicated on minimizing regrets. Enlightening, empowering, and surprising, The Self Delusion shows us how to be the protagonist of the stories we want to tell.
Social Sciences Research by
This is a complete revision with new material of the second edition of Social Sciences Research: Research, Writing, and Presentation Strategies for Students (Scarecrow Press, 2008). There have been significant changes in the research process in the social sciences since the second edition of this text was published in 2008 - a decade ago. The plethora of new information technologies (e.g., smart phones, tablets, apps, etc.); the information overload not only on the Internet where anyone can publish, but also with the explosion of social media (e.g., Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc.); as well as the far reaching changes in databases and other sources of electronic information that is available. Complementing the manual are appendixes consisting of a list of possible research questions, an example paper, a complete set of worksheets, and blank citation forms to be used to record references, which provide further practice for students. In this third edition, the author has included more instruction on searches using electronic sources as well as new formatting guidelines that have been promulgated in the past several years. The ideal resource for college students, this manual addresses the finer points of research and writing that are not given enough instruction in the classroom.
