Is it now possible to request a book from our local collection for easy pickup. The instructions are below:
If there is more than one title included in the results - click on the title you’re interested in so that you see the entire record
If the request was successful, you will receive a message on the screen that says “Your request for (title) was successful. You will be able to pick up this material at the Library Locker when it is ready.”
If the request is not successful, there may be an issue with your account. Please email us at library@northweststate.edu with any questions.
3D Printers: a Beginner's Guide by
3D printing can seem like science fiction. Objects appear to be created out of nothing-as if by magic. With your own 3D printer, you can produce exactly the parts and products that you, and maybe only you, need. This book will guide you through your first steps in 3D printing at home. Get started with a solid overview of concepts and techniques. Learn the basics of 3D construction, with essential information on data files and software. Find out what your options are for both kits and ready-to-use printers. Discover what you need to do to make your first 3D printed part, and what it takes to become a 3D printing professional. 3D Printers: A Beginner's Guide will show you what's possible and what's not, with tips and tricks for practical applications with current technologies. If you aspire to use 3D printing for hobbies, crafts, spare parts, custom toys, or model engineering, this book will guide your first steps into a new future.
Future Uses and Possibilities of 3D Printing by
3D printing is the future. Here's a look at where the craft is going and what students can expect to do if they learn how to use this in-demand skill.
100 Ideas That Changed Graphic Design by
New in the "100 Ideas that Changed..." series, this book demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design. The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).
About Face by 
Color by
Who is not attracted, fascinated or even amazed by the world of colors? First of all there are the painters of course, but also biologists and mineralogists are interested in colors of the living and the inorganic, 'dead', world. There are neuroscientists, psychologists and ophthalmologists, who study the sensation of color vision and the processing of color stimuli in the eye and the brain. Physicists and chemists investigate color science, i.e. the various causes of color. Interior designers know how the colors of furniture and textiles can influence our condition. In all cultures, colors play a central role due to their symbolic content. All Languages have special terms to describe colors and colorfulness. Visual artists play with colors to reflect the world, perhaps to alienate it, and to give us an idea of their personal point of view. Many other examples of the influence of colors on our daily life, our culture could be found... The 'exact' science cannot understand color phenomena. This really fascinating book, written in a style that is understandable for an interested layman, deals with all the varied facets of this subject.
The Complete Typographer by
Provides a definitive visual survey of type to help the typographer use type to best effect. It features: profiles of influential designers; the qualities that make a type design effective; characteristics, applications, and creative uses of each of the seven major typeface groups; special typographic effects; and advantages and disadvantages of desk top publishing typography. A hands-on design guide for typographers, graphic artists, desk top publishers, and advertising production people who want to sharpen their attention to detail and develop a sensitive typographical eye.
Creating Exhibitions by
"This is a must-read for the nervous novice as well as theworld-weary veteran. The book guides you through every aspect ofexhibit making, from concept to completion. The say the devil is inthe details, but so is the divine. This carefully crafted tomehelps you to avoid the pitfalls in the process, so you can have funcreating something inspirational. It perfectly supports thedictum--if you don't have fun making an exhibit, thevisitor won't have fun using it." --Jeff Hoke, Senior Exhibit Designer at Monterey BayAquarium and Author of The Museum of LostWonder Structured around the key phases of the exhibition design process,this guide offers complete coverage of the tools and processesrequired to develop successful exhibitions. Intended to appeal tothe broad range of stakeholders in any exhibition design process,the book offers this critical information in the context of acollaborative process intended to drive innovation for exhibitiondesign. It is indispensable reading for students and professionalsin exhibit design, graphic design, environmental design, industrialdesign, interior design, and architecture.
Decoding Design by
Revealing how common symbols resonate at a gut level, this book examines the basic shapes that have found their way into human design since the very earliest times. The author deconstructs famous logos and designs that use symbols, patterns and shapes to convey meaning.
Designing Experiences by
In an increasingly experience-driven economy, companies that deliver great experiences thrive, and those that do not die. Yet many organizations face difficulties implementing a vision of delivering experiences beyond the provision of goods and services. Because experience design concepts and approaches are spread across multiple, often disconnected disciplines, there is no book that succinctly explains to students and aspiring professionals how to design them. J. Robert Rossman and Mathew D. Duerden present a comprehensive and accessible introduction to experience design. They synthesize the fundamental theories and methods from multiple disciplines and lay out a process for designing experiences from start to finish. Rossman and Duerden challenge us to reflect on what makes a great experience from the user's perspective. They provide a framework of experience types, explaining people's engagement with products and services and what makes experiences personal and fulfilling. The book presents interdisciplinary research underlying key concepts such as memory, intentionality, and dramatic structure in a down-to-earth style, drawing attention to both the macro and micro levels. Designing Experiences features detailed instructions and numerous real-world examples that clarify theoretical principles, making it useful for students and professionals. An invaluable overview of a growing field, the book provides readers with the tools they need to design innovative and indelible experiences and to move their organizations into the experience economy. Designing Experiences features a foreword by B. Joseph Pine II.
Don't Make Me Think by
Since Don't Make Me Think was first published in 2000, hundreds of thousands of Web designers and developers have relied on usability guru Steve Krug's guide to help them understand the principles of intuitive navigation and information design. Witty, commonsensical, and eminently practical, it's one of the best-loved and most recommended books on the subject. Now Steve returns with fresh perspective to reexamine the principles that made Don't Make Me Think a classic-with updated examples and a new chapter on mobile usability. And it's still short, profusely illustrated...and best of all-fun to read. If you've read it before, you'll rediscover what made Don't Make Me Think so essential to Web designers and developers around the world. If you've never read it, you'll see why so many people have said it should be required reading for anyone working on Web sites. "After reading it over a couple of hours and putting its ideas to work for the past five years, I can say it has done more to improve my abilities as a Web designer than any other book." -Jeffrey Zeldman, author of Designing with Web Standards nbsp;
The Elements of Graphic Design by
This very popular design book has been wholly revised and expanded to feature a new dimension of inspiring and counterintuitive ideas to thinking about graphic design relationships. The Elements of Graphic Design, Second Edition is now in full color in a larger, 8 x 10-inch trim size, and contains 40 percent more content and over 750 images to enhance and better clarify the concepts in this thought-provoking resource. The second edition also includes a new section on web design and new discussions of modularity, framing, motion and time, rules of randomness, and numerous quotes supported by images and biographies. This pioneering work provides designers, art directors, and students--regardless of experience--with a unique approach to successful design. Veteran designer and educator Alex. W. White has assembled a wealth of information and examples in his exploration of what makes visual design stunning and easy to read. Readers will discover White's four elements of graphic design, including how to: define and reveal dominant images, words, and concepts; use scale, color, and position to guide the viewer through levels of importance; employ white space as a significant component of design and not merely as background; and use display and text type for maximum comprehension and value to the reader. Offering a new way to think about and use the four design elements, this book is certain to inspire better design.Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Foundations of Design by
FOUNDATIONS OF DESIGN is a clear, concise text covering all major topics in the fundamentals of design. Practical and straightforward, the author builds upon each concept of design from a blank canvas to a final product. The prose is paired with diagrams created by the author that visibly illustrate each concept in the same crisp approach as the narrative. A selection of contemporary and graphic design examples aid students in making connections from the principles of design through to a final work. Paired with the interactive ebook, offering students even more real world examples, as well as the online peer review and instructor critique tool, Art Studio, this text creates an interactive and engaging classroom experience.
Iterate by 
Logo Font and Lettering Bible by
Put the power to design logos and type in your own hands! Why be a designer who must rely upon preexisting typefaces and clip art when you can become the kind of designer who creates logos, fonts and lettering of your own? Leslie Cabarga, author of the bestselling Designer's Guide to Color Combinations, has created a textbook of type for the experienced graphics professional as well as the beginning student of design. You'll learn how to: Create innovative logo design traditionally and on the computer Develop a discerning eye for quality lettering and logo design Design your own custom-made fonts Build a profitable business as a logo, font and lettering designer It's the most comprehensive treatise on logos, fonts and lettering available! The easy-to-read, fun-to-browse, picture-heavy format makes learning to letter a snap. The Logo, Font & Lettering Bible provides the start-to-finish information you need to succeed in today's competitive design market.
Make It Bigger by
An outspoken voice in the world of graphic design for more than twenty years, Paul Scher has developed a worldwide reputation for her bold, modern graphics and her incisive critiques of the design profession.
Service Design by
Service Design is an eminently practical guide to designing services that work for people. It offers powerful insights, methods, and case studies to help you design, implement, and measure multichannel service experiences with greater impact for customers, businesses, and society.
Sketching User Experiences by
Sketching User Experiences approaches design and design thinking as something distinct that needs to be better understood--by both designers and the people with whom they need to work-- in order to achieve success with new products and systems. So while the focus is on design, the approach is holistic. Hence, the book speaks to designers, usability specialists, the HCI community, product managers, and business executives. There is an emphasis on balancing the back-end concern with usability and engineering excellence (getting the design right) with an up-front investment in sketching and ideation (getting the right design). Overall, the objective is to build the notion of informed design: molding emerging technology into a form that serves our society and reflects its values. Grounded in both practice and scientific research, Bill Buxton's engaging work aims to spark the imagination while encouraging the use of new techniques, breathing new life into user experience design.
Thinking with Type by
Our all time best selling book is now available in a revised and expanded second edition.Thinking with Type is the definitive guide to using typography in visual communication, from the printed page to the computer screen. This revised edition includes forty-eight pages of new content, including the latest information on style sheets for print and the web, the use of ornaments and captions, lining and non-lining numerals, the use of small caps and enlarged capitals, as well as information on captions, font licensing, mixing typefaces, and hand lettering. Throughout the book, visual examples showhow to be inventive within systems of typographic form--what the rules are and how to break them.Thinking with Type is a type book for everyone: designers, writers, editors, students, and anyone else who works with words. The popular online companion toThinking with Type (www.thinkingwithtype.com) has been revised to reflect the new material in the second edition.
Trademarks Designed by
The NBC peacock, the PBS "everyman," the Chase Bank octagon, and hundreds of other outstanding trademarks have been created by one design firm, Chermayeff & Geismar Inc. Their logos and identity programs for high-profile corporations such as Mobil, Time Warner, Viacom, and Xerox, and for preeminent institutions such as the New York Public Library, Alvin Ailey Dance, the Smithsonian Institution, and the Museum of Modern Art, are instantly recognizable hallmarks of design.TM collects over 200 trademarks created over the 40-year history of the firm, which is led by Ivan Chermayeff, Tom Geismar, and Steff Geissbuhler. The variety and vitality of their work is reflected in this visually rich book, which serves an inspiration for designers as well as a reference to the best in trademark design.
Unimark International by
"Unimark International was a firm with global reach, with eleven offices in five different countries. Its use of the most modern design approaches and latest marketing methods quickly made it famous and unrivaled. Its clients were international corporations like Gillette, Jaguar, Ferrero, Knoll International, Olivetti, Pirelli, Ranx Xerox, Unilever, IBM, as well as American Airlines and Ford, for which it created visual corporate identities that are still in use today.Unimark was known for always using the latest technological innovations and for using computers long before anyone else. With their visual outlook, Unimark designers had a defining influence on our environment; they left an enduring legacy with their practice and their theory. Many Unimark designers have been honored with international awards for their achievements. A distinctive hallmark of Unimark design is the systematic use of the Helvetica typeface for the corporate identity of firms. "
The User Experience Team of One by
The User Experience Team of One prescribes a range of approaches that have big impact and take less time and fewer resources than the standard lineup of UX deliverables. Whether you want to cross over into user experience or you're a seasoned practitioner trying to drag your organization forward, this book gives you tools and insight for doing more with less.
User Friendly by
InUser Friendly, Cliff Kuang and Robert Fabricant reveal the untold story of a paradigm that quietly rules our modern lives: the assumption that machines should anticipate what we need. Spanning over a century of sweeping changes, from women's rights to the Great Depression to World War II to the rise of the digital era, this book unpacks the ways in which the world has been--and continues to be--remade according to the principles of the once-obscure discipline of user-experience design. In this essential text, Kuang and Fabricant map the hidden rules of the designed world and shed light on how those rules have caused our world to change--an underappreciated but essential history that's pieced together for the first time. Combining the expertise and insight of a leading journalist and a pioneering designer,User Friendly provides a definitive, thoughtful, and practical perspective on a topic that has rapidly gone from arcane to urgent to inescapable. InUser Friendly, Kuang and Fabricant tell the whole story for the first time--and you'll never interact with technology the same way again.
Screening Reality: How Documentary Filmmakers Reimagined America by
"A towering achievement, and a volume I know I'll be consulting on a regular basis."-Leonard Maltin"Authoritative, accessible, and elegantly written, Screening Reality is the history of American documentary film we have been waiting for." --Kenneth Turan, Los Angeles Times film criticFrom Edison to IMAX, Ken Burns to virtual environments, the first comprehensive history of American documentary film and the remarkable men and women who changed the way we view the world.Amidst claims of a new "post-truth" era, documentary filmmaking has experienced a golden age. Today, more documentaries are made and widely viewed than ever before, illuminating our increasingly fraught relationship with what's true in politics and culture. For most of our history, Americans have depended on motion pictures to bring the realities of the world into view. And yet the richly complex, ever-evolving relationship between nonfiction movies and American history is virtually unexplored. Screening Reality is a widescreen view of how American "truth" has been discovered, defined, projected, televised, and streamed during more than one hundred years of dramatic change, through World Wars I and II, the dawn of mass media, the social and political turmoil of the sixties and seventies, and the communications revolution that led to a twenty-first century of empowered yet divided Americans. In the telling, professional filmmaker Jon Wilkman draws on his own experience, as well as the stories of inventors, adventurers, journalists, entrepreneurs, artists, and activists who framed and filtered the world to inform, persuade, awe, and entertain. Interweaving American and motion picture history, and an inquiry into the nature of truth on screen, Screening Reality is essential and fascinating reading for anyone looking to expand an understanding of the American experience and today's truth-challenged times.
Does Playing Video Games Make Players More Violent? by
This book is an academic work which reviews and critiques the research literature concerning violent games and their alleged effects on players. It examines the debates about the potential effects of these games and the divisions between scholars working in the field. It places the research on violent video games in the longer historical context of scholarly work on media violence. It examines research from around the world on the nature of video games and their effects. It provides a critique of relevant theories of media violence effects and in particular theories developed within the older media violence literature and then considers how useful this and newer scholarly work might be for policy-makers and regulators. The book identifies where gaps exist in the extent literature and where future research attention might be directed.
Adobe Photoshop CS5 by
Discover all that Adobe® Photoshop® CS5 has to offer! With detailed attention to artistic and technical features alike, ADOBE PHOTOSHOP CS5 REVEALED provides a solid foundation for those looking to learn this industry-standard program. Real-world, practical examples and step-by-step instruction throughout offer well-rounded, comprehensive coverage. With extensive four-color artwork and screenshots that support and clarify key concepts, ADOBE PHOTOSHOP CS5 REVEALED is a valuable resource that will give readers the confidence they need to edit images with skill and ease using Photoshop CS5.
Camera by
Cameras, and what they capture, forever changed our perception of the world, and of ourselves. Few inventions have had the impact of this ingenious, elegant, and deceptively simple device. This gorgeous cornerstone volume, created in collaboration with the world-famous George Eastman House, celebrates the camera and the art of the photograph. It spans almost two hundred years of progress, from the first faint image ever caught to the instantaneous pictures snapped by today’s state-of-the-art digital equipment. The informative narrative by Todd Gustavson traces the camera’s development, the lives of its brilliant but often eccentric inventors, and the artists behind the lens. Images and highly descriptive captions for more than 350 cameras from the George Eastman House Collection, plus more than 100 historic photos, ads, and drawings, complement the text. A foreword by the George Eastman House Director Anthony Bannon, and insightful essays by Steve Sasson, inventor of the digital camera, and Alexis Gerard, visionary founder and president of Future Image Inc., completes this illuminating study of one of the greatest modern technological achievements.
Digital Photographer's Handbook by
Suitable for all level of techniques, this is the ultimate photographic handbook for the 21st century! This handbook encourages traditional photographers to experiment with new technology while inspiring experienced users to reach new heights. Readers learn how to get the most out of this new technology that's transforming the world of photography. From improving casual snapshots to learning the secrets of lighting, composition, and digital image manipulation, this book provides a practical, yet in-depth approach on producing better photographs. The Digital Photographer's Handbook includes comprehensive information on the most up-to-date equipment, software, and accessories.
Learning to See Creatively by
Almost everyone can "see" in the conventional sense, but developing photographic vision takes practice. Learning to See Creatively helps photographers visualize their work, and the world, in a whole new light. Now totally rewritten, revised, and expanded, this best-selling guide takes a radical approach to creativity. It explains how it is not some gift only for the "chosen few" but actually a skill that can be learned and applied. Using inventive photos from his own stunning portfolio, author and veteran photographer Bryan Peterson deconstructs creativity for photographers. He details the basic techniques that went into not only taking a particular photo, but also provides insights on how to improve upon it--helping readers avoid the visual pitfalls and technical dead ends that can lead to dull, uninventive photographs. This revised edition features the latest information on digital photography and digital imaging software, as well as an all-new section on color as a design element. Learning to See Creatively is the definitive reference for any photographers looking for a fresh perspective on their work.
Life: Photography Exposed by
You could spend years listening to countless stories of Mercury's lift-off, travel to the bottom of the sea, or the first wave of D-Day. Or you could experience them all in one fascinating volume, as Life's writers and photographers take you on a illuminating journey of discovery exploring the most extraordinary photographs of the world. Packed with wonderful photos and fascinating anecdotes, this volume embraces history, travel, culture and life, and it will take you on a journey you'll never forget. Profiles include the sheer rockwall of El Capitan, Yosemite; the human body's moment of conception; Mercury's lift-off, and the wave of D-Day at Normandy Beach. Breathtaking photographs and fascinating aneodotes accompany each picture.
Photography by
Photography is generally considered to have had its birth in 1839, when Louis-Jacques-Mandé Daguerre first revealed his photographic process to the public. Increasingly, cameras have become more automated and electronic over the years. In spite of the increasing sophistication of the equipment, however, the photographer's eye continues to be all-important. Photography remains a unique human act. This compendium focuses on the technology of photography, the camera and its parts, types of lenses, shutters and speeds, films and filters, making photographs, exposing film, lighting, darkroom techniques and processing, printing photographs, and some of the practical applications of the medium.
Photography and the Art of Chance by
Photography has a unique relationship to chance. Anyone who has wielded a camera has taken a picture ruined by an ill-timed blink or enhanced by an unexpected gesture or expression. Although this proneness to chance may amuse the casual photographer, Robin Kelsey points out that historically it has been a mixed blessing for those seeking to make photographic art. On the one hand, it has weakened the bond between maker and picture, calling into question what a photograph can be said to say. On the other hand, it has given photography an extraordinary capacity to represent the unpredictable dynamism of modern life. By delving into these matters, Photography and the Art of Chance transforms our understanding of photography and the work of some of its most brilliant practitioners. The effort to make photographic art has involved a call and response across generations. From the introduction of photography in 1839 to the end of the analog era, practitioners such as William Henry Fox Talbot, Julia Margaret Cameron, Alfred Stieglitz, Frederick Sommer, and John Baldessari built upon and critiqued one another's work in their struggle to reconcile aesthetic aspiration and mechanical process. The root problem was the technology's indifference, its insistence on giving a bucket the same attention as a bishop and capturing whatever wandered before the lens. Could such an automatic mechanism accommodate imagination? Could it make art? Photography and the Art of Chance reveals how daring innovators expanded the aesthetic limits of photography to create art for a modern world.
Photography Changes Everything by
Photography Changes Everythingdrawn from the online Smithsonian Photography Initiativeoffers a provocative rethinking of photographys impact on our culture and our lives. It is a reader-friendly exploration of the many ways photographs package information and values, demand and hold attention, and shape our knowledge of and experience in the world. At this transitional moment in visual culture, Photography Changes Everything provides a unique opportunity to better understand the history, practice, and power of photography. The publication harnesses the extraordinary visual assets of the Smithsonian Institutions museums, science centers, and archives to trigger an unprecedented and interdisciplinary dialogue about how photography does more than record the worldhow it shapes and changes every aspect of our experience of and in the world. The book features over three hundred images and nearly one hundred engaging short texts commissioned from experts, writers, inventors, public figures, and everyday folkHugh Hefner, John Baldessari, John Waters, Robert Adams, Sandra Phillips, and others. Each story responds to images selected by project contributors. Together they engage readers in a timely exploration of the extent to which our lives have been transformed through our interactions with photographic imagery.
A Short Course in Photography by
For one-semester introductory courses in photography.This easy-to-use, inexpensive text introduces students to the fundamentals of photography and suggests ways in which they might create photographs that have meaning. Oriented toward traditional black and white photography, the book also explores digital techniques and web photography resources, equipment, cameras and camera accessories, the exposure and development of film, and the making and finishing of prints. All aspects of the process are explained and illustrated clearly in two-page spreads, each of which addresses a self-contained topic.
The Ultimate Field Guide to Photography by
Throughout the book dozens of well-known, highly accomplished photographers showcase some of their most famous shots and share both the human stories behind them and the specific technical details of their creation.
Your Camera Loves You by
With Your Camera Loves You: Learn to Love it Back, photographer and instructor Khara Plicanic teaches the basics of photography and digital camera functions that students can apply to any camera, anywhere, any time--answering questions like: What do all those different modes mean and when do I use them? What's a megapixel and why should I care? Students will follow along with Khara's simple explanations of shutter speed, aperture, and shooting modes to get comfortable handling their camera (even bossing it around a bit!), learn to shoot images that tell a story, and understand the thought process involved in making a great photograph. Along the way they'll learn techniques for improving those yellow dingy photos of kids' indoor sporting events, fixing exposure on shots that are too dark or too bright, avoiding the dangers of over-cropping, and much more.
Digital and Social Media Marketing by
Digital and Social Media Marketing: A Results-Driven Approach is an exciting new industry-led, research-informed and results-driven guide to digital commerce. Its examples draw from SMEs and from Europe to offer a unique perspective for those learning about digital marketing and, having been developed in close collaboration with the Search Engine Marketing Trade Association (SEMTA), it is a reliable source of prevailing industry standards for practitioners at the cutting edge of their trade. Unlike other digital marketing texts, this accessible textbook gives special consideration to the ethical challenges raised by an increasingly digital world. Equally unique is the book¿s Digital Business Maturity Model, which offers organisations a clear roadmap for understanding their relative levels of technology adoption. Embracing the true spirit of Digital and Social Media Marketing, the book will be the first of its kind in this field with digital learning materials, case studies and exercises available in a supporting Massive Open Online Course (MOOC). The MOOC will enhance learners¿ experience and create an interactive international learning community. This book will provide a hands on, accessible and user friendly platform to turn skills and knowledge into strategic advantage. Ideal for postgraduate learners, instructors interested in providing a unique and up-to-date learning experience and for SMEs and practitioners aiming to be at the cutting edge of Digital and Social Media Marketing.
Instagram by
Instagram is at the heart of global digital culture, having made selfies, filters and square frames an inescapable part of everyday life since it was launched in 2010. In the first book-length examination of Instagram, Tama Leaver, Tim Highfield and Crystal Abidin trace how this quintessential mobile photography app has developed as a platform and a culture. They consider aspects such as the new visual social media aesthetics, the rise of Influencers and new visual economies, and the complex politics of the platform as well as examining how Instagram's users change their use of the platform over time and respond to evolving features. The book highlights the different ways Instagram is used by subcultural groups around the world, and how museums, restaurants and public spaces are striving to be 'Insta-worthy'. Far from just capturing milestones and moments, the authors argue that Instagram has altered the ways people communicate and share, while also creating new approaches to marketing, advertising, politics and the design of spaces and venues. Rich with grounded examples from across the world, from birth pictures to selfies at funerals, Instagram is essential reading for students and scholars of media and communication.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media by
The world is in the midst of a social media paradigm. Once viewed as trivial and peripheral, social media platforms like Twitter, Facebook and WeChat have become an important part of the information and communication infrastructure of society. They are bound up with business and politics as well as everyday life, work, and personal relationships.This international Handbook addresses the most significant research themes, methodological approaches and debates in the study of social media. It contains substantial chapters written especially for this book by leading scholars from a range of disciplinary perspectives, covering everything from computational social science to sexual self-expression. Part 1: Histories And Pre-Histories Part 2: Approaches And Methods Part 3: Platforms, Technologies And Business ModelsPart 4: Cultures And PracticesPart 5: Social And Economic Domains
The Social Fact - News and Knowledge in a Networked World by
How the structure of news, information, and knowledge is evolving and how news media can foster social connection. While the public believes that journalism remains crucial for democracy, there is a general sense that the news media are performing this role poorly. In The Social Fact, John Wihbey makes the case that journalism can better serve democracy by focusing on ways of fostering social connection. Wihbey explores how the structure of news, information, and knowledge and their flow through society are changing, and he considers ways in which news media can demonstrate the highest possible societal value in the context of these changes. Wihbey examines network science as well as the interplay between information and communications technologies (ICTs) and the structure of knowledge in society. He discusses the underlying patterns that characterize our increasingly networked world of information--with its viral phenomena and whiplash-inducing trends, its extremes and surprises. How can the traditional media world be reconciled with the world of social, peer-to-peer platforms, crowdsourcing, and user-generated content? Wihbey outlines a synthesis for news producers and advocates innovation in approach, form, and purpose. The Social Fact provides a valuable framework for doing audience-engaged media work of many kinds in our networked, hybrid media environment. It will be of interest to all those concerned about the future of news and public affairs.
Social Media and Society by 
Social Media Marketing by
This book focuses on the role of social media as the next major game-changer. Social media has emerged as the defining trend in the last decade and continues to restructure communication and interactions between individuals, communities, governments and businesses. Researchers and marketers are still struggling with the profound impact of rapidly evolving social media on viral user-generated content, its ability to shape consumer perceptions, and the constantly changing landscape for developing business cases to proactively engage with stakeholders. The growing opportunities to "hear" about customer priorities and concerns on company managed channels as well as third-party review sites, including social media pages, across the digital space are accompanied by the challenges of responding to these conversations in real-time, which calls for a massive shift in the way marketing functions engage in dialogue with customers. As leading users of social media in emerging markets, Indians are increasingly logging into their Facebook and Twitter accounts, with the country recording the highest growth in social networking. This book begins by discussing the impact of social media on marketing, from brand building, communications, and advertising to customization and customer engagement. The book approaches the subject matter systematically, identifying broad trends, concepts and frameworks in the first few chapters. It then goes on to address the varied application of social media in marketing for different sectors. Primarily focusing on understanding digital consumers, the book integrates social media with marketing and the outcome. It also presents new, selected cases of successful digital companies in emerging markets never before considered. Researchers and managers alike will find this book to be a handy reference guide to social media in emerging markets.
The Twenty-Six Words That Created the Internet by
"No provider or user of an interactive computer service shall be treated as the publisher or speaker of any information provided by another information content provider." Did you know that these twenty-six words are responsible for much of America's multibillion-dollar online industry? What we can and cannot write, say, and do online is based on just one law--a law that protects online services from lawsuits based on user content. Jeff Kosseff exposes the workings of Section 230 of the Communications Decency Act, which has lived mostly in the shadows since its enshrinement in 1996. Because many segments of American society now exist largely online, Kosseff argues that we need to understand and pay attention to what Section 230 really means and how it affects what we like, share, and comment upon every day. The Twenty-Six Words That Created the Internet tells the story of the institutions that flourished as a result of this powerful statute. It introduces us to those who created the law, those who advocated for it, and those involved in some of the most prominent cases decided under the law. Kosseff assesses the law that has facilitated freedom of online speech, trolling, and much more. His keen eye for the law, combined with his background as an award-winning journalist, demystifies a statute that affects all our lives -for good and for ill. While Section 230 may be imperfect and in need of refinement, Kosseff maintains that it is necessary to foster free speech and innovation. For filings from many of the cases discussed in the book and updates about Section 230, visit jeffkosseff.com
If you'd like to know if a specific book is available for you to check out, you can search the library catalog and look for the location "check shelves" or stop in to the library and we will assist!
Please note that the list to the left does not represent all books that we have at any one time.
